J. Robert Schrieffer and the BCS Theory of Superconductivity

Resources with Additional Information

J. Robert Schrieffer
Courtesy of NHMFL

Robert Schrieffer received his BS from M.I.T. in 1953 and his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois in 1957. Upon entering the University of Illinois, "he immediately began research with Professor John Bardeen. After working out a problem dealing with electrical conduction on semiconductor surfaces, Schrieffer spent a year in the laboratory, applying the theory to several surface problems. In the third year of graduate studies, he joined Bardeen and [Leon] Cooper in developing the theory of superconductivity, which constituted his doctoral dissertation."1 Bardeen, Cooper and Schrieffer were awarded the 1972 Nobel Prize in Physics "for their jointly developed theory of superconductivity, usually called the BCS-theory".

"Schrieffer … was a university eminent scholar professor at Florida State University and a chief scientist at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory before his retirement in 2006. His recent work has focused on magnetism in condensed matter and high temperature superconductivity."2

2Edited excerpts from John Robert Schrieffer (1931-Present)


Resources with Additional Information

Additional information about John Robert Schrieffer and his research is available in full-text and on the Web.


Microscopic Theory of Superconductivity; Physical Review, Vol. 106, Issue 1: 162-164, April 1, 1957

Theory of Superconductivity; Physical Review, Vol. 108, Issue 5: 1175-1204, December 1, 1957

Pseudogaps and the Spin-bag Approach to High-Tc Superconductivity; Physical Review B, Vol. 41, Issue 10: 6399-6408, April 1, 1990

Theoretical Studies of Magnetic Systems. Final Report, August 1, 1994 – November 30, 1997, DOE Technical Report, 1997

Inhomogeneous States of Nonequilibrium Superconductors: Quasiparticle Bags and Antiphase Domain Walls; Physical Review B, Vol. 57, Issue 22: 14433-14439, June 1, 1998


Additional Web Pages:


Some links on this page may take you to non-federal websites. Their policies may differ from this site.