Alexei Abrikosov and Superconductivity

Resources with Additional Information · Publications at ANL

Alexei A. Abrikosov of the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory (ANL) is a recipient of the 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics for his research in the area of superconductivity.

Alexei Abrikosov
Courtesy Argonne National Laboratory

"Abrikosov's research [at ANL] centers on condensed-matter physics (the structure and behavior of solids and liquids), and concentrates on superconductivity, the ability of some materials to carry electrical current without resistance. He was the first to propose the concept of "type-II superconductors" in 1952 and constructed the theory of their magnetic properties, known as the Abrikosov vortex lattice.

His wide-ranging career has also included research in quantum electrodynamics (the theory of elemental particle interactions) and astrophysics, in which he studied the properties of hydrogen planets. He has also worked on the theory of semimetals and plasma physics, the behavior of materials under high pressures, and the theory of quantum liquids. ...

Superconductivity is the ability of some materials to conduct electricity without resistance when they are chilled to extremely low temperatures. Superconducting magnets are used to produce powerful magnetic fields for the standard body scanning technique called magnetic resonance imaging, or MRI. ...

Abrikosov is [an] Argonne Distinguished Scientist at the Condensed Matter Theory Group in Argonne's Materials Science Division."

– Excerpts from Argonne Scientist Wins 2003 Nobel Prize for Physics

Resources with Additional Information

Additional information about Alexei Abrikosov and his work is available in full-text reports and on the Web.


New Developments in the Theory of HTSC [High Temperature Superconductors], DOE Technical Report Download Adobe PDF Reader, September 1994

Theory of High-Tc Superconducting Cuprates Based on Experimental Evidence, , DOE Technical Report Download Adobe PDF Reader, December 1999

Ginzburg–Landau Equations for the Extended Saddle-point Model, Physical Review B: Condensed Matter, Vol. 56, Issue 1: 446–52; July 1, 1997

Additional publications


Additional Web Pages:

Alexei Abrikosov
Courtesy Argonne National Laboratory

Honors and Awards:

Abrikosov Elected to Royal Society of London, (2001), Argonne News 06/04/01

Abrikosov Enters National Academy of Sciences, (2000), Argonne News 06/05/00

Other honors and awards received by Abrikosov include:
  •  Fellow of the American Physical Society (1992)
  •  Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1991)
  •  International John Bardeen Award (1991).


Some links on this page may take you to non-federal websites. Their policies may differ from this site.