skip to main content

Title: The influence of crystal structure on ion-irradiation tolerance in the Sm(x)Yb(2-x)TiO5 series

his ion-irradiation study covers the four major crystal structure types in the Ln(2)TiO(5) series (Ln = lanthanide), namely orthorhombic Pnma, hexagonal P63/mmc, cubic (pyrochlore-like) Fd-3m and cubic (fluorite-like) Fm-3m. This is the first systematic examination of the complete Ln(2)TiO(5) crystal system and the first reported examination of the hexagonal structure. A series of samples, based on the stoichiometry Sm(x)Yb(2-x)TiO5 (where x = 2, 1.4, 1, 0.6, and 0) have been irradiated using 1 MeV Kr2+ ions and characterised in-situ using a transmission electron microscope. Two quantities are used to define ion-irradiation tolerance: critical dose of amorphisation (D-c), which is the irradiating ion dose required for a crystalline to amorphous transition, and the critical temperature (T-c), above which the sample cannot be rendered amorphous by ion irradiation. The structure type plus elements of bonding are correlated to ion-irradiation tolerance. The cubic phases, Yb2TiO5 and Sm0.6Yb1.4TiO5, were found to be the most radiation tolerant, with Tc values of 479 and 697 K respectively. The improved radiation tolerance with a change in symmetry to cubic is consistent with previous studies of similar compounds.
ORCiD logo ; ; ; ORCiD logo ; ; ; ; ORCiD logo ;
Publication Date:
OSTI Identifier:
DOE Contract Number:
Resource Type:
Journal Article
Resource Relation:
Journal Name: Journal of Nuclear Materials; Journal Volume: 471; Journal Issue: C
Research Org:
Argonne National Laboratory (ANL)
Sponsoring Org:
USDOE Office of Nuclear Energy (NE)
Country of Publication:
United States