Science Showcase: George F. Smoot and Roger D. Kornberg

George Smoot
George F. Smoot won the 2006
Nobel Prize in Physics.

George F. Smoot and Roger D. Kornberg have joined the growing list of Nobel Laureates associated with DOE. Smoot won the 2006 Nobel Prize in Physics for his work in blackbody and anisotropy of the cosmic microwave background radiation. Smoot is an astrophysicist at DOE's Lawrence Berkeley National Lab and a UC Berkeley physics professor. He shared the award with John C. Mather of NASA Goddard Space Flight Center.

Roger D. Kornberg of Stanford University won the 2006 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his studies of the molecular basis of eukaryotic transcription. A significant portion of Kornberg's research leading to this prize was performed at the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory (SSRL), a Department of Energy (DOE)-supported research facility located at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC).

See a list of the 45 DOE-supported and/or -affiliated Nobel Prize winners since 1977.

Featured Smoot Documents, from OSTI's Information Bridge

Featured Kornberg documents from OSTI's Energy Citations Database

Also, search for more than 250 articles.



Last updated on Monday 20 March 2017