2008 Nobel Prize in Physics is Awarded to Researcher Supported by U.S. Department of Energy

A researcher supported by the U.S. Department of Energy has been named co-winner of the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physics. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded Dr. Yoichiro Nambu of the United States half of the prize "for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics." Dr. Makoto Kobayashi and Dr. Tohihide Maskawa received a quarter of the 2008 prize "for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three quarks in nature" (see DOE press release). See OSTI’s Science Showcase on Dr. Nambu and view and download Dr. Nambu’s research from OSTI R&D collections.

Last updated on Monday 25 April 2016