Women's (in DOE Science) History Month info at OSTI

Do you need info for Women’s History Month? Think Women in DOE Science History. Ada Yonath, 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Barbara McClintock, 1983 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; and Maria Goeppert-Mayer, 1963 Nobel Prize in Physics, are featured at the DOE R&D Accomplishments website. Yonath counts as a double bonus if you also need info for the International Year of Chemistry. All three researchers accomplished their award-winning discoveries through work at DOE labs. A few facts (more can be found at the DOE R&D Accomplishments site):

  • Yonath established the Weizmann Institute in 1970, which was for almost a decade the only protein crystallography laboratory in Israel.
  • Among McClintock's many honors for her discovery of mobile genetic elements is a U.S. Postal Service Stamp dedication.
  • Goeppert-Mayer, for development of the nuclear shell model, was the second woman to receive the Nobel Prize in physics (following Marie Curie) and the fourth American woman to win a Nobel Prize.

DOE R&D Accomplishments is a central forum for information about significant outcomes of past DOE R&D widely recognized as remarkable advancements in science.

Last updated on Monday 25 April 2016