DOE-supported researcher takes 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics

Saul Perlmutter, a physicist at the DOE Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) and a professor of physics at the University of California at Berkeley, won the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics "for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae" (see DOE press release). Perlmutter shares the prize with Brian Schmidt of the Australian National University and Adam Riess of Johns Hopkins University and Space Telescope Science Institute. Read more about Perlmutter at the OSTI DOE R&D Accomplishments website. DOE R&D Accomplishments is a central forum for information about significant outcomes of past DOE R&D widely recognized as remarkable advancements in science.

Last updated on Monday 25 April 2016