Nobel Chemists Associated with the DOE and Predecessors

Information about affiliations: Office of Science DOE Nobel Laureates

Alphabetical Listing
Chronological Listing
A B  C D E F G H  I J K L M N O  P Q R S T  U V W X Y  Z


2013 2012 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 1993 1992 1990 1989 1988 1987 1986 1983 1982 1981 1980 1979 1977 1976 1975 1974 1973 1972 1969 1968 1967 1965 1963 1962 1961 1960 1959 1958 1957 1956 1955 1952 1951 1946 1944 1939 1938 1936 1934

Name Year Nobel Prize In     Year Nobel Prize In
A           2013  
Peter Agre 2003 Chemistry       Martin Karplus Chemistry
            Michael Levitt Chemistry
Paul D. Boyer 1997 Chemistry       2012  
    [Top]       Brian K. Kobilka Chemistry
Melvin Calvin 1961 Chemistry       2009  
Thomas Cech           1989 Chemistry       Venkatraman Ramakrishnan Chemistry
Donald J. Cram 1987 Chemistry       Thomas Steitz Chemistry
Robert F. Curl, Jr. 1996 Chemistry       Ada Yonath Chemistry
D           2008  
Johann Deisenhofer 1988 Chemistry       Roger Y. Tsien Chemistry
F           2006  
Paul J. Flory 1974 Chemistry       Roger D. Kornberg Chemistry
G         Robert H. Grubbs Chemistry
Robert H. Grubbs 2005 Chemistry       Richard R. Schrock Chemistry
H           2003  
Alan Heeger 2000 Chemistry       Peter Agre Chemistry
Dudley R. Herschbach 1986 Chemistry       Roderick MacKinnon
Roald Hoffmann 1981 Chemistry          
K           Alan Heeger Chemistry
Martin Karplus 2013 Chemistry       Alan MacDiarmid Chemistry
Brian K. Kobilka 2012 Chemistry          
Roger D. Kornberg 2006 Chemistry       1999  
    [Top]       Ahmed H. Zewail Chemistry
L           1998  
Yuan T. Lee 1986 Chemistry       John Pople Chemistry
Michael Levitt 2013 Chemistry          
Willard F. Libby 1960 Chemistry       1997  
          Paul D. Boyer Chemistry
Alan MacDiarmid 2000 Chemistry      1996  
Roderick MacKinnon 2003 Chemistry       Robert F. Curl, Jr. Chemistry
Rudolph Marcus 1992 Chemistry       Richard E. Smalley Chemistry
Edwin McMillan 1951 Chemistry        
Mario Molina 1995 Chemistry     1995  
          Mario Molina Chemistry
O         F. Sherwood Rowland Chemistry
George A. Olah 1994 Chemistry        
P          George A. Olah Chemistry
John Pople 1998 Chemistry        
Ilya Prigogine 1977 Chemistry     1992  
          Rudolph Marcus Chemistry
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan 2009 Chemistry       1989  
F. Sherwood Rowland 1995 Chemistry       Thomas Cech           Chemistry
S   [Top]       1988  
Richard R. Schrock 2005 Chemistry       Johann Deisenhofer Chemistry
Glenn T. Seaborg 1951 Chemistry          
Richard E. Smalley 1996 Chemistry       1987  
Thomas Steitz 2009 Chemistry       Donald J. Cram Chemistry
T         1986  
Henry Taube 1983 Chemistry     Dudley R. Herschbach Chemistry
Roger Y. Tsien 2008 Chemistry     Yuan T. Lee Chemistry
U         1983  
Harold Clayton Urey 1934 Chemistry       Henry Taube Chemistry
Y   [Top]       1981  
Ada Yonath 2009 Chemistry       Roald Hoffmann Chemistry
    [Top]       1977  
Z         Ilya Prigogine Chemistry
Ahmed H. Zewail 1999 Chemistry        
            Paul J. Flory Chemistry
          Melvin Calvin Chemistry
          Willard F. Libby Chemistry
          Edwin McMillan Chemistry
          Glenn T. Seaborg Chemistry
          Harold Clayton Urey Chemistry
The source for this list of Nobel Laureates associated with DOE and predecessor agencies is the U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Science. Guidelines for inclusion are:
  • The laureate’s prize-winning work was conducted while employed at DOE research facilities or directly funded by DOE at a
    university or industry.
  • The research significantly benefited from laureate’s experiments or programs conducted at the laboratories, but may not have
    been directly funded by DOE.
  • Long-standing and significant DOE or national laboratory support, which would include other research leading to
    prize-winning discoveries.
  • Education and training supported by DOE or the national laboratories, including graduate research, postdoctoral research, or
    undergraduate research experiences that influenced the laureate’s scientific growth and direction.
  • Other research collaborations and joint programs. The laureate was involved in significant joint research collaborations, as
    evidenced by joint proposals, jointly published papers, or extended research participation and guest status.

Some links on this page may take you to non-federal websites. Their policies may differ from this site.