Advanced Search

Browse by Discipline

Scientific Societies

E-print Alerts

Add E-prints

E-print Network

  Advanced Search  

Franklin College Senate Minutes of the Meeting of 22 Aug 2006

Summary: Franklin College Senate
Minutes of the Meeting of 22 Aug 2006
1. The meeting was called to order at 3:30 pm in 100A, Old College
There were 13 senators or proxies in attendance: Shane Hamilton, Ken Honerkamp, John
Wares, Kristin Kundert-Gibbs, Michael Roden, Richard Winfield, Roy Legette, Gary
Lautenschlager, Keith Campbell, David Lowenthal, Bill McCormick, Lisa Fusillo, John
2. Approval of the April 2006 minutes was postponed until the Sept 2006 meeting
because of the lack of a quorum.
3. Presiding officer Anne Summers welcomed the senators and called attention to
sections of the College ByLaws (copies distributed to all) of particular interest to
Senators. She also encouraged new senators to stay after the meeting if they had any
3. Dean Stokes Comments:
Last year we hired 39 new faculty in the Franklin College. Not all of these were
funded by the College (some, for instance, came from CCRC). Three new hires
were for external heads, Chris Cuomo (WMST), Georgia Strange (Lamar Dodd
School of Art), and Steve Hajduk (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology).
The successful recruitment of the Anderson Professorship resulted in the
appointment of Frederick Burchinal, formerly of the New York Metropolitan


Source: Arnold, Jonathan - Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center & Department of Genetics, University of Georgia


Collections: Biotechnology