Home

About

Advanced Search

Browse by Discipline

Scientific Societies

E-print Alerts

Add E-prints

E-print Network
FAQHELPSITE MAPCONTACT US


  Advanced Search  

 
BioMed Central Page 1 of 19
 

Summary: BioMed Central
Page 1 of 19
(page number not for citation purposes)
BMC Immunology
Open AccessResearch article
Plasmodium chabaudi limits early Nippostrongylus brasiliensis-induced
pulmonary immune activation and Th2 polarization in co-infected
mice
Marieke A Hoeve1, Katie J Mylonas1, Karen J Fairlie-Clarke1,
Simmi M Mahajan1, Judith E Allen1 and Andrea L Graham*1,2
Address: 1Institute of Immunology and Infection Research, School of Biological Sciences, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, EH9 3JT, UK and
2Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, 08544, USA
Email: Marieke A Hoeve - m.hoeve@ed.ac.uk; Katie J Mylonas - kmylonas@staffmail.ed.ac.uk; Karen J Fairlie-Clarke - Karen.Fairlie-
Clarke@ed.ac.uk; Simmi M Mahajan - smahajan@ed.ac.uk; Judith E Allen - j.allen@ed.ac.uk; Andrea L Graham* - algraham@princeton.edu
* Corresponding author Equal contributors
Abstract
Background: Larvae of several common species of parasitic nematodes obligately migrate
through, and often damage, host lungs. The larvae induce strong pulmonary Type 2 immune
responses, including T-helper (Th)2 cells as well as alternatively activated macrophages (AAM) and
associated chitinase and Fizz/resistin family members (ChaFFs), which are thought to promote

  

Source: Allen, Judith - School of Biological Sciences, University of Edinburgh
Graham, Andrea L. - School of Biological Sciences, University of Edinburgh

 

Collections: Biology and Medicine