Home

About

Advanced Search

Browse by Discipline

Scientific Societies

E-print Alerts

Add E-prints

E-print Network
FAQHELPSITE MAPCONTACT US


  Advanced Search  

 
BioMed Central Page 1 of 11
 

Summary: BioMed Central
Page 1 of 11
(page number not for citation purposes)
BMC Immunology
BMC Immunology2002,3 x
Research article
IL-4 dependent alternatively-activated macrophages have a
distinctive in vivo gene expression phenotype
P'ng Loke1,2, Meera G Nair1, John Parkinson1, David Guiliano1,
Mark Blaxter1 and Judith E Allen*1
Address: 1Institute of Cell, Animal and Population Biology, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH9 3JT, UK and 2Department of Molecular and
Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720, USA
E-mail: P'ng Loke - ploke@uclink.berkeley.edu; Meera G Nair - m.g.nair@ed.ac.uk; John Parkinson - john.parkinson@ed.ac.uk;
David Guiliano - David.Guiliano@ed.ac.uk; Mark Blaxter - mark.blaxter@ed.ac.uk; Judith E Allen* - j.allen@ed.ac.uk
*Corresponding author
Abstract
Background: "Alternatively-activated" macrophages are found in Th2-mediated inflammatory
settings such as nematode infection and allergic pulmonary inflammation. Due in part to a lack of
markers, these cells have not been well characterized in vivo and their function remains unknown.
Results: We have used murine macrophages elicited by nematode infection (NeM) as a source

  

Source: Allen, Judith - School of Biological Sciences, University of Edinburgh

 

Collections: Biology and Medicine