Advanced Search

Browse by Discipline

Scientific Societies

E-print Alerts

Add E-prints

E-print Network

  Advanced Search  

PRIZES AND AWARDS Click here for the names of persons to whom awards have been made in 2010-2011.

Summary: 24
Click here for the names of persons to whom awards have been made in 2010-2011.
George Olmsted Jr., Class of 1924 Prizes
Awarded for excellence in teaching to four secondary school teachers nominated by members of the senior class.
Prizes in Special Studies
JOHN SABIN ADRIANCE 1882 PRIZE IN CHEMISTRY. From a fund given by John Sabin Adriance, 1882, a cash prize is given to the student who has
maintained the highest rank in all courses offered by the department of chemistry.
ROBERT G. BARROW MEMORIAL PRIZE FORMUSICCOMPOSITION. Established in 1989 in memory of Robert Barrow, professor of music at Williams
1939-1976, to be awarded to a qualified music student on the basis of his/her accomplishment in music composition at Williams College and on
promise as a composer.
ERASTUS C. BENEDICT 1821 PRIZES. From a sum of money given by Erastus C. Benedict, 1821, once an instructor in the College, first and
second cash prizes are awarded for excellence in biology, French, German, Latin, Greek, history and mathematics.
RUSSELL H. BOSTERT THESIS PRIZE IN HISTORY. A cash prize established in 1990 by Roger L. Headrick 1958 in honor of Professor Bostert, Stan-
field Professor of History, on the occasion of his retirement after forty-two years as a member of the Williams faculty, and awarded to an Honors
student for the best thesis in American History, with special consideration to inter-American relations or Sino-American relations.
KENNETH L. BROWN 1947 PRIZE IN AMERICAN STUDIES. From a fund established by his parents in memory of Kenneth L. Brown, 1947, a cash
prize is awarded annually to a senior majoring in American Studies.
NATHAN BROWN PRIZE IN HISTORY. In honor of Nathan Brown, a member of the class of 1827 who was a distinguished linguist and missionary
to several Asian countries, the department of history awards a book to the first-year student or sophomore who writes the best essay in a course in


Source: Aalberts, Daniel P. - Department of Physics, Williams College


Collections: Physics