Home

About

Advanced Search

Browse by Discipline

Scientific Societies

E-print Alerts

Add E-prints

E-print Network
FAQHELPSITE MAPCONTACT US


  Advanced Search  

 
Growing IVY: Building the Immersive Visual environment at York
 

Summary: Growing IVY: Building the Immersive Visual
environment at York
M. Robinson, J. Laurence, J. Zacher, A. Hogue,
R. Allison, L. R. Harris, M. Jenkin, W. Stuerzlinger
Centre for Vision Research, York University
4700 Keele St., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, M3J 1P3
matt@cs.yorku.ca, laurence@hpl.crestech.ca, zacher@hpl.crestech.ca,hogue@cs.yorku.ca
allison@cs.yorku.ca, harris@yorku.ca, jenkin@cs.yorku.ca, wolfgang@cs.yorku.ca
Abstract
When we move about within our environment, we are
presented with a range of cues to our motion. Virtual
reality systems attempt to simulate these various sensory
cues. IVY the Immersive Visual environment at York
is a virtual environment being constructed at York
University to investigate aspects of human perception and
to examine the relative importance of various visual and
non-visual cues to the generation of an effective virtual
environment. This paper describes the movation behind the
design of IVY, and describes the design of the essential
hardware and software components.

  

Source: Allison, Robert - Department of Computer Science, York University (Toronto)
Jenkin, Michael R. M. - Department of Computer Science, York University (Toronto)
Stuerzlinger, Wolfgang - Centre for Vision Research & Department of Computer Science, York University (Toronto)

 

Collections: Biology and Medicine; Computer Technologies and Information Sciences; Engineering