Energy Citations Database
Bookmark and Share (Link will open in a new window)

Archived Features


Photo Courtesy of LANL

Nanotechnology has a vitally important role
to play in addressing the nation's energy,
climate change and national security challenges.

Nanotechnology Research results in Energy Citations Database

Saul Perlmutter
Photo Courtesy of LBNL

LBL Astrophysicist Dr. Saul Perlmutter
wins the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics

"For the discovery of the accelerating
expansion of the Universe through
observations of distant supernovae."

Dr. Perlmuter's research in ECD

Solid-State Lighting

solid state lighting

DOE is investing with industry partners in R&D of solid-state lighting because of its rapid ongoing improvements and superior energy-saving potential.

DOE Industrial Technologies Program
the lead government program working to increase the energy efficiency of U.S. industry

industrial technology program

Oil and Gas Reservoirs
Oil and Gas Reservoirs for the long-term storage of CO2.

Carbon Sequestration

gold carbon nanoparticle interactions

Gold-carbon nanoparticle interactions

Nanotechnology Research

atomic scale

Nanoscale Science

The study of matter at the atomic scale

supercomputer modeling

Supercomputer Modeling & Visualization

A new way to understand the behavior of complex systems

DOE’s Genome Research

The Genomic Science Program supports fundamental research on plant and microbial systems biology to advance DOE missions in energy, climate, and environment. [3/3/09]

  – DOE Genomic Science Program Overview
  – Associated Documents

Advancing the understanding of the fundamental nature of matter and energy[12/14/09]


Elizabeth Blackburn, Jack Szostak
and Carol Greider

Three U.S. scientists win 2009 Noble Prize in Physiology or Medicine "for the discovery of how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase'. [10/09/09]

Associated telomerase research documents

DOE’s Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL)
Advancing the coupled fields of fusion energy and plasma physics

Fueling the Future video

PPPL’s Josh Breslau and Stefan Gerhardt recipients of
Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers

Associated Documents
Associated Documents

Oak Ridge National Laboratory
DOE’s Largest Science and Energy Laboratory

ORNL researchers receive recognitions [7/22/09]

Craig Blue – Associated Documents
Jun Qu – Associated Documents
Sharon Robinson – Associated Documents

Robin Santra

Presidential  Early Career Award for the advancement of atomic, molecular and optical science [6/30/09]

   – Associated Documents

A pioneer in physics and leader in expanding opportunities for women in science and engineering. [5/8/09]

   – National Science Board Award
   – Associated Documents

A social scientist and researcher on the human dimensions of climate change has been recognized for his service to geography and the general scientific community. [4/20/09]

   – Geographers honor Wilbanks
   – Associated Documents

Research interests include theoretical nuclear, many-body, and computational physics, nuclear astrophysics, and global environmental science. [3/31/09]

   – Biography
   – Associated Documents

Advanced Computing

Department of Energy's Office of Science Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research ASCR delivers forefront computational and networking capabilities to scientists nationwide. [3/17/09]
   – Breakthroughs Report
   – Associated Documents

Materials Research

DOE's Office of Science Office of Basic Energy Sciences supports research that will help accelerate progress toward long-term energy independence, economic growth, and a sustainable environment. [3/2/09]
   – New Science for a Secure and Sustainable Energy Future
   – Associated Documents

Particle Physics

DOE's Office of Science Office of High Energy Physics supports researchers, experiments, and facilities that hold a promise to revolutionize our understanding of the universe. [2/3/09]
   – Benefits to Society
   – Associated Documents

Kenneth Kulander

2008 Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases Recipient. [10/6/08]
   –American Physical Society
   –Associated Documents

Hugh E. Montgomery

Hugh E. Montgomery named new director of the Department of Energy's Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility. [4/11/09]
   –Excerpt from Oak Ridger

Featured Bibliography

James J. Hack

James J. Hack has been appointed director of the National Center for Computational Sciences, a leadership computing facility at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. [2/12/08]
   –Excerpt from Oak Ridger

Featured Bibliography

Wolfgang Panofsky

Wolfgang K. H. "Pief", Panofsky, Renowned Stanford Physicist and Arms Control Advocate, Dead at 88 Tuesday, September 25, 2007. [9/25/07]
   –Excerpt from Stanford Linear Accelerator Center

Featured Bibliography