Nanostructures for Electrical Energy Storage (NEES)
The University of Maryland's NEES is a multi-institutional research center, one of 46 Energy Frontier Research Centers (EFRC) established by the U.S. Department of Energy. The group's focus is developing highly ordered nanostructures that offer a unique testbed for investigating the underpinnings of storing electrical energy.


Founded in 1856, the University of Maryland is Maryland's flagship institution and plays a leadership role as one of the country’s premier centers for academic scholarship and research.

Explore UMD's science & education community, faculty of interest & exceptional students arrow
Wallace D. Loh, President, University of Maryland Clark School Students’ Human-Powered Helicopter Achieves Record-Breaking Flight UMD's Gates Awarded Nation's Top Science Honor College Park Scholars - Outstanding Achievement and Citizenship Awards The Center for Environmental Energy Engineering wins DOE home cooling award Patricia Steele, Dean, University Libraries University of Maryland's "WaterShed" Wins 2011 Solar Decathlon Prof. William Phillips, winner of the 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics Liangbing Hu wins prestigious Air Force Young Investigator Award Watch 'Research Matters' on Vimeo Dist. Prof. Thomas Schelling, winner of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Economics Prof. William Dorland won DOE's Lawrence Award for meritorious contribution in n Distinguished Prof. Rita Colwell awarded the National Medal of Science in 2007 Construction is underway on UMD's new $120 million Physical Sciences Complex Asst. Prof. Sang Bok Lee investigates nanotube arrays Super Cool Appliance Design Wins DOE Student Competition Dr. Patrick G. O’Shea, Vice President and Chief Research Officer Engineering student Mosteller wins Dean's Master's Student Research Award Prof. Rubloff Co-Authors Major DOE Report on Emerging Energy Technologies UMD Senior is First Terp to Win Gates Cambridge Scholarship Winners of DOE Hydrogen Student Design Contest Turn Urban Waste into Energy Dr. Santiago Solares Wins Department of Energy's Early Career Award UMD Researchers Achieve Breakthrough in Nanoprecision Imaging UMD's Graduate School OSTI's Director Walter L. Warnick, PhD, is a UMD alumnus The Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building Prof. John Mather, winner of the Nobel Prize for Physics in 2006 UMD Researchers Publish Groundbreaking Findings on Global Biodiversity, Alternat Prof. Bill Dorland, DOE's 2010 E.O. Lawrence Award for plasma physics research UMD's NOAA Center for Weather and Climate Prediction officially opens
Photos: The University of Maryland